Make your own free website on
South Korea Info
Home | History | Geography | Culture | Government | Economy | Famous People | Travel | Special Feature | Science | Landmarks | Conclusion | About Me


            South Korea was established after World War II when the nation of Korea split into two countries; the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea (also known as North Korea; dictatorship) and the Republic of Korea (South Korea; democratic republic). Korea, the two nations as a whole, started recording the many kingdoms and dynasties in 57 B.C. During the Russo-Japanese War, Japan invaded Korea despite Korea’s declarations of neutrality. In 1905, the Japan-Korea Protection Treaty gave Japan complete control of Korea; by 1910, a royal proclamation announced the annexation by Japan.

            The Japanese suppressed the Koreans and their culture for about four decades. However, on August 15, 1945, the Japanese surrendered because of the USSR troops in northern Korea and the U.S. troops in southern Korea. In 1945, under UN observance, South and North Korea became their own countries. On June 25, 1950, North Korean troops invaded South Korea, starting the Korean War. The war continued for four years, leaving millions dead on both sides. A demilitarized zone (DMZ) was made to force peace between the two countries, splitting many families and loved ones.

            The war crumbled South Korea’s economy, but through a government-business economic plan, South Korea is now one of the world’s most powerful, independent, stable countries. There have been six republics now, and South Korea has risen to prove to the world that it will not be oppressed by foreign influences any more.

Thanks for visiting my website!